New York State Ballet Board Members

Katherine Johnson, Founder and Executive Chair
Kara Bosco, Board Member

Benjamin Johnson, Marketing/Advertising

Edward C. “Russ” Kenyon, Esq., Board Member

Pam McMindes, Board Member

Howard Spindler, Board Member

Daria Veltri, Board Member

Lee Woodring, Board Member

Board Member Bios

Katherine Johnson, Founder and Executive Chair

Katherine Johnson is the founder and artistic director of New York State Ballet, as well as the owner and artistic director of Ballet Prestige, the training academy of New York State Ballet. Katherine studied at Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet School for four years, graduating with professional certification in the Cecchetti Method and Vaganova System of ballet technique and training.


Katherine has also choreographed major portions of several professional ballet performances, most notably of a full-length adaptation of The Nutcracker and excerpts from The Sleeping Beauty for Ballet Prestige, and Alice in Wonderland for Western New York Youth Ballet.  She also choreographed pieces performed at Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet School Professional Division’s “First Steps” Choreographic Competition.

Kara Bosco, Board Member

Kara Bosco is a Business Unit Leader at Xerox Corporation.  She has over 28 years of industry experience and holds one US Patent.  Her education includes a Simon School MBA, as well as BS & MS degrees in Mechanical Engineering.   Kara is an ardent supporter of the ballet community.  She is an active board member of the NYSB.  In addition, she serves on the Simon Women’s Alliance Board and the University of Rochester Mechanical Engineering Industrial Advisory Board.  Her son and daughter are currently enrolled in college studies.  She resides in Pittsford, NY with her husband Andrew and two dogs.


Benjamin Johnson, Marketing/Advertising

Ben Johnson graduated from Dartmouth College and received his MBA from Harvard Business School.  Prior to joining Merrill Lynch in 2006, he worked as a financial advisor at Morgan Stanley and regional account director at Leo Burnett.


Ben most recently served on the boards of Rochester City Ballet, the Tennis Club of Rochester and Washington College in Chestertown, Maryland.  Ben is an avid ballroom dancer who also dances competitively.


Howard Spindler, Board Member

Howard Spindler, piano teacher at Eastman Community Music School for almost 40 years, began his teaching career as a graduate assistant while pursuing an M.A. degree at Eastman in the late 1970’s. Over the years, he has taught piano, music theory, Dalcroze Eurhythmics and Solfeggio, chamber music and music history in both the community and collegiate divisions of Eastman School. In 1988 he received the Jack L. Frank Award for outstanding teaching at ECMS. In 2011, the Rochester Alumni Chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon honored Howard as Musician of the Year.


Howard is a native Rochesterian. As a high school student he earned an Eastman Preparatory Department Diploma; he completed his B.A. at Oberlin College, then returned to Eastman for graduate work; he pursued postgraduate studies in Germany at the Folkwang Hochschule, Essen. Howard is an enthusiastic accompanist and chamber musician, and he has long enjoyed collaborating with many area colleagues, including friends at The Hochstein School. 


Mailing Address: PO Box 201, Pittsford, NY 14534

Studio Location: 821 Fairport Rd. E. Rochester, NY 14445

Office: (585) 203-1763   |  Cell: (585) 704-1903 


Thank you to our 2020 Corporate Sponsors: 

Merrill Lynch - Woodring Ponticello,

Spindler Family Foundation,
M&T Bank and Ballet Prestige.

  • NYSB You Tube
  • Facebook Icon

© 2020 by New York State Ballet. Proudly powered by